Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Beyond The Reflection's Edge by Bryan Davis

Beyond the Reflection's Edge by Bryan Davis


Enter a fantastical world where even the mirrors tell lies.

This fast-paced adventure fantasy trilogy starts with murder and leads teenagers Nathan and Kelly out of their once-familiar world as they struggle to find answers to the tragedy. A mysterious mirror with phantom images, a camera that takes pictures of things they can't see, and a violin that unlocks unrecognizable voices... each enigma takes the teens farther into an alternate universe where nothing is as it seems.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan Shepherd has a great life traveling where the careers of his father, an investigator, and mother, a renowned violinist, take him... until his parents are found murdered.

Left with only a mirror and notes from his father's last case, Nathan goes into hiding at the remote country home of Tony, his father's college buddy, and Tony's teenage daughter, Kelly. The mysterious mirror must be a clue to what happened to his parents, and when images appear in it--people and things that don't exist--Nathan and Kelly painstakingly gather evidence. But the killers want the mirror too, and danger threatens the teens at every turn.


BRYAN DAVIS is the author of the bestselling fantasy series "Dragons in Our Midst" and "Oracles of Fire". He and his wife Susie have seven children and live in western Tennessee, where he continues to cook up his imaginative blend of fantasy and inspiration.

My review:
It took me a while to get into this book. I did end up getting into it, but I found it a bit too much out-of-the-ordinary for my tastes. However, that being said, it was a really well-written book.

2 comments:

Ashlea said...

Hey hunny, Its Ashlea here. I had no idea that you had a blog. OMG. LOL hey this seriously does look like a good book. I am totally considering reading it.
Love ya
Ash

Galadriel said...

I had the great privilege of pre-reading this book. I don’t want to spoil the surprise, so I will only say that after being enthralled by the world Bryan Davis created in Dragons in Our Midst and expanded upon in Oracles of Fire, I eagerly anticipated his new series, Echoes from the Edge. The characters, like those in his first two series, are realistic, relatable teens that readers of all ages can identify with. I see echoes of myself in Daryl, who constently alludes to and quotes from such favorite fantasies as Lord of the Rings and Narnia, as well as The Wizard of Oz.
My good intentions to read only a chapter of Beyond the Reflection's Edge daily evaporated. I read the whole book in less than four hours. The first chapter contained more emotion and action than some books ever reach. From there, the story builds in depth and action to an extraordinary conclusion. Unlike some books, Beyond the Reflection's Edge yields more excitement with each re-reading. I can't wait for the next installment!
I highly recommend this books for fans of Narnia, Lord of the Rings, Binding of the Blade, and any other faith-based fantasy. This book is not a cliche, and has an extremely original plot line and characters.